Indie Pattern month # 1 – toile

I was delighted to learn about this initiative: Katui_kiwi  and Kat are hosting the Indie Pattern Month!

Indie pattern month

J’ai été ravie d’apprendre l’initiative de Katuikiwi  et Kat. Ces dames organisent le génial Indie pattern month !

Chardon

Chardon

Great idea! I am an absolute supporter of independent initiatives. There are a couple of ladies out there who are passionate about their art, who take into account good customer service (no “one size” policy which reduces the human body to the one size fits all, “well thought out, clear instructions and support”, quoting Deer & Doe and Kat) and sustainable production which promotes the use of recyclable paper to print out patterns.

Deer & Doe does all the above and designs lovely pretty feminine patterns.

Chardon ou cirse

Chardon ou cirse

Excellente idée! Je suis partisane d’initiatives indépendantes : celles ou ceux qui choisissent de mettre en avant leur savoir-faire, qui sont passionné(e)s par leur art, qui fournissent du bon service (refus de la taille unique S-M-L qui réduit le corps humain au principe de la taille standard, “patrons bien pensés,  instructions claires, simples et bien rédigées”, pour citer Deer & Doe et Kat) et la production durable qui favorise l’utilisation de papier recyclable pour imprimer les patrons.

Deer et Doe fait tout cela et conçoit des jolis patrons très féminins.

patron Chardon

patron Chardon

I fell in love with the Chardon skirt. It is a beginner’s level skirt but even so I decided to do a toile first. I learned it the hard way and I must say I do not trust myself when it comes to sewing. I was actually surprised when Sunni from A Fashionable Stitch wrote how insecure she felt sometimes about her sewing abilities. I realized I am not alone and the more so in excellent company🙂

I found a cheap cotton/polyester fabric in my stash together with a contrasting colour fabric.

patron Chardon

patron Chardon

Je suis tombée sous le charme de la jupe Chardon. C’est une jupe de niveau débutant mais j’ai tout de même décidé d’en faire une toile. Chat échaudé craint l’eau froide : je dois dire que je n’ai pas tout à fait confiance en moi quand il s’agit de couture. J’ai été surprise lorsque Sunni de A Fashionable Stitch a écrit comment elle n’était pas toujours sûre de ses capacités en matière de couture. J’ai réalisé que je ne suis pas la seule et que d’autant plus je suis en excellente compagnie🙂

J’ai trouvé un coton / polyester pas cher dans ma pile de tissus ainsi qu’un tissu d’une couleur contrastante.

toile jupe Chardon

toile jupe Chardon

Rachel from House of Pinheiro gave excellent advice about taking the habit of taking your measures before you start a new project. It is always good to check whether you have lost or gained a few centimeters. So I took my measures. These measures (waist and hip size) matched size 38. Next step I took paper and pencil and traced my pattern.

Cut the fabric, assembled the pieces and started stitching.

toile jupe Chardon

toile jupe Chardon

Rachel de House of Pinheiro a publié un excellent conseil : prendre l’habitude de prendre vos mesures avant de commencer un nouveau projet. Il est toujours bon de vérifier si vous avez gagné ou perdu quelques centimètres. J’ai donc pris mes mesures. Ces mesures (tour de taille et des hanches) correspondent à la taille 38. J’ai donc pris du papier et crayon et traça mon modèle.

J’ai coupé le tissu, assemblé les morceaux et commençai à piquer.

toile jupe Chardon

toile jupe Chardon

I had two technical problems and two good surprises. Let’s begin with the good surprises:

First: I was delighted to notice that Deer & Doe starts this pattern very much the way I choose to start my sewing: by overcasting. I am not sure whether this is “academic” but I find indeed more logical to start with overcasting: the fabric is easier to manage in the sewing machine and the overall work is much cleaner. When I am not using the four bobins of the overlocker to assemble and overcast simultaneously I find it more logical to do just like Deer & Doe.

logo Deer & Doe

J’ai eu deux problèmes techniques et deux bonnes surprises. Commençons par les bonnes surprises:

Premièrement : J’ai été ravie de constater que Deer & Doe commence à coudre le modèle de la façon dont je choisis d’entamer la couture en général : par le surjet. Je ne suis pas sûre que ce soit “académique” de le faire, mais je trouve en effet plus logique de commencer par le surjet : le tissu est plus facile à entraîner dans la machine à coudre et l’ensemble de la couture est nettement plus propre. Quand je ne suis pas en train d’utiliser les quatre bobines de la surjeteuse pour faire l’assemblage des pièces, je trouve plus logique, comme Deer & Doe de commencer par le surjet.

instructions poches

instructions poches

Second: I was also delighted at the way Deer & Doe assembles pockets. She instructs us to ”lay one pocket face on the skirt panel (right sides together), matching the top of the pockets with marks.”

Afterwards we have to “turn the pockets outwards, pin the front and back skirt together with right sides facing each other and stitch following the illustration”:

It is a great way to sew pockets! The finished work is much cleaner and it is so easy to do.

instructions poches

instructions poches

Deuxièmement : Je suis également ravie de la façon dont Deer & Doe assemble les poches. Elle nous instruit à « positionner les poches endroit contre endroit sur les jupes dos et devant en les faisant correspondre avec les répères. »

Ensuite, nous devons « rabattre les poches vers l’extérieur, épingler les jupes devant et dos endroit contre endroit et les assembler suivant l’illustration » :

C’est une excellente façon de coudre les poches ! Le travail fini est beaucoup plus propre et c’est si facile à faire.

vue intérieure poche

vue intérieure poche

The two technical problems I had are my fault😦

Dumb and dumber I carefully follow the instructions one after the other… When I come to sew the inverted box pleats I sew them all as it is indicated on step 2. I turn the page and realize there are additional steps to do for the version I chose.

Second:

Oops! An undesirable fan aeration system.

Oops! An undesirable fan aeration system.

Les deux problèmes techniques que j’ai eus sont de ma faute😦

Bête mais disciplinée, je suis attentivement les instructions l’une après l’autre … Quand je viens à coudre les plis plats je les couds tous comme il est indiqué à l’étape 2. Je tourne la page et me rends compte qu’il y a des étapes supplémentaires à faire pour la version que j’ai choisi…

Deuxième :

Système d'aération imprévu !

Système d’aération imprévu !

A little embarrassing… What can I say? My two pregnancies tummy shows off! Both the waist and hips area are ok but not the tummy area. Ok, lesson learned, I must check all measures before cutting out.

Un peu embarrassant … Que puis-je dire ? Le témoin indélébile de mes deux grossesses ! Les mensurations à la taille et aux hanches sont ok, mais pas au ventre. Il manque environ 6 cm + coutures – c’est beaucoup ! Bon, j’ai compris, je dois préalablement vérifier toutes les mesures !

Mesure du tour du ventre

Mesure du tour du ventre

It’s lacking about 6 cm + seams – that’s a lot! Ok I have learned the hard way and will check the next pattern on the belly area as well.

Anyway, nothing too dramatic, that’s what toiles are meant for! Next step: a real Chardon skirt, a little shorter perhaps.

What about you? Do you check your measures against a pattern’s? Did you ever had a concern of this kind?

hauteur ventre

hauteur ventre

Quoi qu’il en soit, ce n’est rien de trop dramatique, c’est ce à quoi les toiles sont destinées, n’est-ce pas ? Je n’ai qu’à me lancer dans une nouvelle Chardon, cette fois-ci un peu plus courte peut-être.

Et vous ? Vérifiez-vous vos mesures par rapport à celles du patron? Avez-vous déjà eu un problème de ce genre ?

Credit photos:

Chardon: from Annunciaties blogspot

Chardon ou cirse by Nicolas Grandjean (Création personnelle) [GFDL, CC-BY-SA-3.0 or CC-BY-SA-2.5-2.0-1.0], via Wikimedia Commons

8 thoughts on “Indie Pattern month # 1 – toile

  1. I think the final skirt (made to measure) is going to be really nice. I didn’t buy this pattern when I bought my last lot of Deer & Doe but I was temped🙂 I have flicked through the instruction of the Belladone (I have high hopes of trying to make it this June but I doubt it, maybe in July…) and I agree, they are written how I sew too, it makes me very happy!

  2. Esto será una versión maravillosa cuando esté terminada la falda final!! Aunque muchas instrucciones desaconsejan lo siguiente.. yo siempre mido el patrón de papel y comparo con las medidas de mi cuerpo antes de cortar la tela… así me aseguro lo más cerca posible que la toilette se ajustará mejor a mi cuerpo. Estoy deseando ver la falda terminada!! Vuelvo a estar activa!!

    • Ahora en adelante, eso es lo que haré, es decir, comparar todas las medidas. Es más seguro🙂 En este sentido, estoy totalmente de acuerdo con te cuando diciste preferir utilizar patrones sin costuras añadidas. Esos simplificam los cálculos y comprobaciones y además se puede elegir el margen de costura que quieres emplear, o 2 cm, 1,5 cm y 0,6mm para costuras overlock, por ejemplo.

  3. Je suis jaloux! I adore that skirt by Deer and Doe! I want the Belladone pattern as well. Too bad shipping to Brazil is so expensive. I can’t wait to see how your’s turns out! sewingforme.wordpress.com

  4. I really like this skirt, aeration system and all! I am not a great skirt wearer due to my rather rugby-player legs, but this one seems a good length and I always feel lost without pockets, so this could be the next thing I add to my Sewing Fail list.

  5. What timelessly pretty work! I adore the wide band of solid colour running along the bottom of that skirt. It’s both modern (the colour blocking trend that’s holding fast still) and completely timeless.

    Many sweet thanks for your lovely blog comment, dear lady, it’s a joy to “meet” you.

    Big hugs from the sunny Okanagan,
    ♥ Jessica

Leave a Reply

