Me Made May and Paradise Lost

 
The mind is its own place, and in itself can make a heaven of hell, a hell of heaven..”

― John Milton, Paradise Lost

It may sound intriguing. What does Me Made May has to do with Milton and the above quote from Paradise Lost?

Actually, a couple of things.

self-made jacket and trousers

self-made jacket and trousers

I was asked to give some details on the cream jacket. Errr, a little embarrassing, though. This vest has not one but lots of faults. Faults or mortal sins, as CarmencitaB refers to them here.

self-made jacket and trousers

self-made jacket and trousers

On top of being a sewist who is usually in a hurry, I have no formal training whatsoever in sewing. When I started sewing there were no blogs with fitting information to help you adjust a garment. I only used either Burda or Knipmode and the instructions did not make a lot of sense to me. So like a brave stuntwoman I just delved into sewing. With eyes closed, I’m afraid.

self-made blouse and trousers

self-made blouse and trousers

With the cocktail hurry + no knowledge + a good dose of impatience to finish what I was sewing, the result could be none other than poor. That’s where the hell above comes on stage. That’s why my sewlution for this year was to take things easy, to learn as much as possible and most important, to enjoy the process.

That’s what I am trying to do. Even now, as I write this post.

self-made blouse, jacket and trousers

self-made blouse, jacket and trousers

Back to the cream jacket. It is an old September 2005 Knipmode pattern, no.25. It was my first jacket and I dare not enumerate all of the mistakes and flaws it has. Too many. And yet, as Spring comes, I usually find it to be the perfect garment to put on on chilly mornings. I love the neutral cream colour, the soft and smooth linen fabric and the silky Venezia lining. It is really comfy to wear. So I just overlook the capital sins and dub them into dainty and darling sins. I come to terms with myself and there’s my Paradise Lost back😉

jacket lining

jacket lining

“L’esprit est à soi-même sa propre demeure ; il peut faire en soi un Ciel de l’Enfer, un Enfer du Ciel.”
– John Milton, Paradise Lost, traduit par Chateaubriand, 1861.

Cela peut sembler intrigant. Qu’est-ce que Me Made May a à voir avec Milton et la citation ci-dessus de Paradise Lost ?

En fait, un certain nombre de choses.

self-made jacket and trousers

self-made jacket and trousers

On m’a demandé de donner des détails sur la veste couleur crème. Euh, un peu gênant, à vrai dire. Cette veste n’en a pas un, mais plusieurs défauts. Trop même. Des défauts ou des «péchés capitaux», pour citer l’expression utilisée par CarmencitaB ici .

self-made jacket and trousers

self-made jacket and trousers

Au-delà d’être une couturière trop souvent à la hâte, je n’ai eu aucune formation en couture. Quand j’ai commencé à coudre, il n’y avait pas de blogs avec des informations de montage pour aider à ajuster un vêtement. Je décalquais les patrons Burda ou Knipmode et les cousais à la machine. En gros c’était ça. Les instructions n’avaient pas beaucoup de sens pour moi, donc tel un cascadeur courageux je plongeais les yeux fermés dans la couture.

self-made blouse and trousers

self-made blouse and trousers

Le cocktail hâte de finir + aucune connaissance + une bonne dose d’impatience pour terminer ce que je faisais ne pouvait donner que des résultats médiocres. C’est là que l’enfer de Milton prend tout son sens. C’est pourquoi ma sewlution pour cette année était de prendre les choses en main, essayer d’apprendre autant que possible et le plus important, prendre plaisir durant tout le processus.

C’est ce que j’essaie de faire. Même maintenant, alors que j’écris ce post.

self-made blouse, jacket and trousers

self-made blouse, jacket and trousers

Retour à la veste crème. C’est un vieux modèle de septembre 2005 de Knipmode , le no.25. C’était ma première veste et je n’ose pas énumérer toutes les erreurs et défauts qu’elle présente. Trop, tout simplement. Et pourtant, dès que le printemps arrive, je la trouve souvent idéale à porter lors des matins frisquets. J’aime la couleur crème neutre, le tissu en lin souple et lisse et la doublure Venezia, si soyeuse. Elle est ainsi très confortable à porter. Je néglige les péchés capitaux et les surnomme péché mignons. Je me réconcilie avec moi-même et retrouve enfin mon paradis perdu.😉

jacket lining

jacket lining

4 thoughts on “Me Made May and Paradise Lost

  1. Los errores son solamente aprendizajes en el camino hacia la costura perfecta, el hecho de que te señales errores en tu propia confección demuestra que cada vez eres más exigente con tus habilidades de costura, simplemente.
    Me encanta el desafío de hoy, una fiesta de colores neutros que combinan maravillosamente entre si!

Leave a Reply

